Open journal of a perimenopausal woman – The Joy Retreat Barbados

Disclaimer – perimenopause is not all misery.

Back in 2022, I was hoping for something to save me from the cold, perimenopause, endometriosis, and adenomyosis. Then there was a lots of talk about 22 02 2022. So I joined a session about manifestation and I wrote a list.

I wrote a list, and the first thing was Barbados. I couldn’t spell it, but I felt it and paid my deposit for the Joy Retreat. I didn’t quite know how I was going to make things happen, but I did.

Karen provided information on flights and the option to communicate with others before going to Barbados. This was so helpful for dealing with my anxiety. I don’t travel much, and as a dyslexic I struggle with directions. Some wonderful souls helped me with packing, navigating getting to the airport, checking in, and security. I am forever grateful. Yes, I didn’t need as much as I took.

The island of Barbados means a lot to Karen as it is the country of her parents’ birth. She always comes back revitalised, and that feeling is contiguous. I have another dear friend who regularly travels to Barbados, and she also comes back with a similar feeling. This place has got to be special, right?

Well, I took a risk to find out for myself. As a photographer, there was no way I wasn’t bringing my camera with me. My camera is also my comfort blanket to hide behind. As I enjoy shooting behind the scenes (BTS) and events, I turn the sound off on my camera shutter. This allowed me to capture some moments that will always be special.

Like this picture of myself sat looking onto the ocean from my bedroom.

When we got to our rooms, these beautiful items were placed on the bed. Earth to Earth Organics make beautiful products, and so that was a lovely touch. Karen asked about t-shirt sizes, so I knew there would be a t-shirt. Then the lovely handmade pouch. Creative activities is how I met Karen, Follow Friday on a certain social media platform, I think.

I had no idea what to expect, but I all I knew was to be open. I am so glad I did. I didn’t know anyone, and my social anxiety was working overtime. The crashing sound of the ocean brought me peace.

There’s so much more in-between, but not everything is for social media. The laughter, tears, sharing, understanding, and growth were fostered in a safe environment. When you have a space of safety to explore this journey of menopause I realised it wasn’t all doom and gloom. It’s more like a time of reinvention.

Since coming back from this life-affirming week. People have commented on a difference in my demeanour, outlook, and confidence, and I could go on. I have dug into making changes, like regular movement, developing my creative practice, acknowledging all of my feelings, and becoming more self-aware.

My wish for other Black women is to experience what they need to get from investing in themselves. The Joy Retreat is about you and being able to fill your own cup. Thank you for reading this.

Leave a comment