Open journal of a perimenopausal woman – Strength

Earlier this week, I posted this photo of a green 5kg bag of basmati rice. Since starting my perimenopause journey, my levels of activity and strength had lessened. So much so, carrying shopping became difficult. Then, when I went to Barbados, I struggled to keep up. About 6 weeks later, the opportunity to join a 6 weeks transformation programme at a private gym appeared on social media. I knew the owner so felt confident it would benefit me. 6 weeks turned into 6 months, and working out 3-4 times a week made a massive difference. This level of movement was great, and doing it first thing in the morning helped me with sleep, cardio, and strength.

Then I posted this photo of my hand holding the green bag of rice, saying, “What are you holding onto?” Well, I had been holding onto my bodily changes, reliving some of the levels of pain from endometriosis. One of my first symptoms was aches and pains. It was taking over 20 minutes for my body to warm up in the mornings. I was also holding onto the communities I was part of and how I didn’t feel supported.

Not feeling supported is something many people with ADHD can experience, and would answer many questions for me. I’m on the list for assessment, so we will see. In the meantime, I am avoiding gyms at this time of the year. But looking at what I can do for myself to continue my journey of movement alongside perimenopause.

All photos were taken with my OM-D E-M10II while I practised with lighting.

Leave a comment