Open journal from a perimenopausal woman

Over on Instagram I wanted to share some self portraits taken with a new 45mm 1.8 lens as well as telling a bit of a story. The quality of my lens has highlighted the grooves in my skin and my grey, the detail is great.

Since being aware of my perimenopause journey I have felt like I can’t be seen as a person. Then when Sadie of This Curious Life Coaching posted on Instagram about fitting in or belonging it has sat with me. Do read her post, for me I am actually petite in stature but taller in my head. So I have been fitting in places for so long and it doesn’t feel good. I will be posting a series of self portraits, that have given me the chance to practice with my 45mm lens and tell some stories. I am okay by the way.

Sometimes I poke my head out of my comfort zone asking was that zone actually that comfortable? Conditioning can do so many whacked things. What do I want? What can I have? What do I deserve? What am I capable of? What am I scared of?

Yesterday the last question was what am I scared of? Sometimes my own shadow,  not reaching my full potential (I was diagnosed with dyslexia aged 30), a body that works and not articulating myself. Like the snow some of it will pass and with help. Over 9 years ago I signed up to Instagram to share moments from Paralympics 2012 and sell my jewellery.  Photography is now the way I articulate myself the most. Telling a story through a photo is a powerful picture book.

I posted this shot on my on Instagram stories with a Kelis song. As I was struggling to post it. When I was originally going to post this shot I had profound words and like some frustrations they have passed.

Thank you for interacting with this post and my photos.

One thought on “Open journal from a perimenopausal woman

Leave a comment