Taking photos at Wasps Rugby

Let me take you back to a September Tuesday when a dear friend got me the opportunity to take photos at Wasps Rugby Club. Wasps Rugby Club play their games at the Coventry Building Society arena in Coventry. The last time I had been to this Arena was to watch a Take That concert many moons ago.

I have worked for a sports club in another sport so appreciate the time it takes to set up before the actual game takes place. So I had the opportunity to capture some shots around the arena, changing room, kit room and pitch before it got busy.

I won’t lie my knowledge of rugby union is limited so knowing exactly what to shoot was down to my creativity and not getting in the way.

Again when I shot another sports event earlier in the year, I was equipped with a OM Systems 14-42mm kit lens and 45mm fixed lens. Sometimes I feel really unprepared with my kit. But then I have tried to make do with what I have and can afford.

I am so grateful for this opportunity and would love to go back, once I work out the best way to stay warm.

Wasps did secure the win against Newcastle Falcons in this midweek Cup match.

There’s many things I would like to improve given the chance to shoot some Rugby again and so I will go away with my learning points and do my homework.

2 thoughts on “Taking photos at Wasps Rugby

Leave a comment