Birmingham Online Seller Meetup 

Poppybead Creative

After my listing some of my stock on Ebay and not doing very well at all, I decided I need to do some research.

I got some really honest feedback from my previous post about Ebay.  Also the realisation that the amount of items I have to sell at any one time makes me a very little fish in huge pond.  For some time I have participated in online networking hours across the West Midlands.

A week last Sunday I came across an online sellers meetup event in Birmingham via #BrumHour.  I headed over to eventbrite and signed up.  The event was free and so had nothing to lose.

The weather in the evening was very different and I did think about going home to be dry and warm.  There was an opportunity to network before the presentations.  First was Abdullah from Plentymarkets and then Prabhat from Online Seller UK who organised the event.

Another realisation I made was I don’t know much about online retail.  I spoke with a guy who does drop shipping and yes I did Google it when I got home.  I spoke to another man who sold headscarves and a couple who sell body stickers. I did speak to some other people and I was prepared with my business cards.  I was able to pull up some of my product shots and got some nice feedback.  I was also asked by a lady who does video production how do I manage what I do alongside my day job?  I don’t know!  I think if you enjoy what are doing, you will make time.

I learnt a lot about selling on Ebay and Amazon and at this point in time they are not selling platforms for me. I will revisit them in the future. For now I will go into the sunset with my 105mm lens to take more photos.

Poppybead Creative

Leave a Reply

