Yarningham – Birmingham’s New Yarn Festival

This weekend Stirchley Baths were hosting a new yarn festival called Yarningham.  It has been organised Stiches and Hos.

 

I will be honest, I didn’t look at who had stalls and I don’t need any yarn. Famous last words from any crafter.  I wanted to go with an open mind as this was a new festival and the first in Birmingham for sometime. 

When I got to Bournville station I noticed some lost looking faces and I asked if you were going to Yarningham and the answer was yes. These ladies had travelled from Lincoln and Hull.

Once the queue on the door had passed I was in and thought this was small but I think this is more because I used to going to larger shows. 

Myself and a friend made be line for the button stall and I got the following buttons to make necklaces. 

As I already mentioned I didn’t need any yarn and saw so many things I wanted but didn’t need.   I was rather restrained and got some mini skeins for the sock yarn blanket. 

It was nice to see and feel yarn from different dyers. It was also lovely to have something on my doorstep.  The vendors were very friendly and attentive, even though it was busy. 

This shawl pattern is by Anniken Anni on the Fab Funky Fibres stall. 

Leave a Reply

