Jollof Rice

Poppybead blog - Jollof Rice

Since I was a little girl & I and I am not much taller I have loved Jollof rice.  Jollof Rice is in basic terms a spicy tomato rice dish.  You can add any meat, vegetables, fish or extra spices.  It is eaten in many countries on the West coast of Africa like Ghana & Nigeria, where my origins are from.

Last year when I went home I asked my mum and partner to cook some Jollof rice for some Basketball friends.  I decided to take some photos of them cooking, they thought I was mad but I have turned those photos into a film using Movie Maker.  Let me know what you think?

Ingredients Used

  • Basmati rice
  • Tinned tomatoes
  • Tomato puree
  • Fresh tomatoes
  • Onions
  • Scotch bonnet peppers
  • Tuna
  • Prawns
  • Salt & pepper
3 thoughts on “Jollof Rice

  1. Great soundtrack! They both look delicious!

    So, are the scotch bonnets left whole and then pulled out at the end like I do for rice and peas? Or de-seeded and/or whole and whizzed up with the tomatoes etc. I suppose it depends how hot you like it eh!

    I think I might have answered my own question 😉

Leave a Reply

