20130317-220536.jpg

Due to bad weather in the UK at the beginning of the year lots of games have had to be re-arranged.  Fast forward to March 2013, when checking my emails when I saw an email from Alison Flower asking me to officiate at Stoke Spitfires.  I’ve never officiated at Stoke before and was available to help out.  Alison & Andy picked me up from the railway station with a full car of chairs, basketballs & people.

20130317-160813.jpg
We arrived at their new venue a new academy school.

20130317-161014.jpg

20130317-161050.jpg

For me it’s been a long time since I was at school so the buildings used to educate the future generations have changed.

20130317-220103.jpg

For a stranger to a new club everyone was very welcoming and friendly from the Outset.  As for the new venue the hall was nice but very cold, my hot water bottle will have to come with me next time.

I was officiating with a parent who wants to get more involved at the club.  She has a good knowledge of the game and picks things up really quickly.  She also had me in fits of laughter, when the game wasn’t going on.

With regards to the actual game, it was a great example of grass roots Basketball, with Stoke dominating in the first half.  Sheffield Steelers brought it back in the second half and played hard but just couldn’t get close enough with a final score of 49-37 to Stoke Spitfires.

20130317-231936.jpg

My day out in Stoke was lovely and makes remember all the good things I love about Wheelchair Basketball.  See you guys in Coventry next week.

Leave a Reply

