Inspire a Generation

Today sees the end of the London 2012 Olympics and before settling down to watch the gold medal game I received a text message.  It was from one of the officials due to table officiate the game, I hope she doesn’t mind me sharing this text.  “I just wanted to say a huge thank you for all your help, advice & support you’ve given me over the years.  Without your original enthusiasm to train me up in the first place, I wouldn’t be here now, about to officiate the mens Olympic gold medal basketball game.”  Oh boy I did cry!  This person came to the West Midlands to study and became part of the Basketball family and I was extremely proud to see her on the television, along with her colleagues.

Whilst watching all the Basketball I kept noticing on the rim of the Baskets “inspire a generation”.  These games have inspired so many people to volunteer, officiate and compete to the best of their ability.  I have also been in touch with a few of the ITO’s (referees) and they are travelling from all corners of the world for the Paralympics and their nerves and excitement has been infectious.

In Great Britain there has been an awesome vibe for the Paralympics today and as GB Wheelchair Basketball player Helen Freeman tweeted “Paralympics is trending!”  It was also lovely to see the BBC showing the Channel 4 advert for the Paralympics .  I hope everyone around the world can watch this You Tube video.  If not I got a tweet from Channel 4 today that says “The IPC will have dedicated worldwide streams – see our friends at @Paralympic for more details.

It also looks like the Paralympics will be best attended so far in it’s history.  Talking of history the BBC will be showing a drama called “The best of men” which is about the birth of the Paralympics and Dr Ludwig Guttmann.

I have included this QR code (You will need a scanner application) which is another development in technology in order to give you information on the BBC drama.  Technology has played a really important role in the Olympics and will do the same for the Paralympics keeping people up to date.

As the medals were being given out for the mens competition I noticed amongst the committee of people was IPC President Sir Philip Craven.  I didn’t notice because he was in a wheelchair, I noticed because his attendance shows a real integration between the Olympics and the Paralympics.

I hope people reading my blog will be inspired to watch Wheelchair Basketball or another sport at the Paralympics.  It really isn’t a poor relative of the Olympics, it will be another amazing show put on in London town.

Leave a Reply

