20 days to go

Yesterday I got an email to say my Paralympic accreditation has been sent to me & this afternoon it was in my hands.  I don’t think I can really put into words how excited I am and how real this now feels.

I already started packing last week and after talking to some of my fellow officials I hopefully won’t overpack.  I usually overpack when I go to tournaments but I can always leave some stuff at my mum’s house.  I am originally from London and so this opportunity to officiate at London 2012 is the stuff dreams are made of.

I have been to the Olympic Park to watch some Synchronised Swimming and I was really excited.  I had no problems with public transport or security, even with my mascot who has been travelling around the country with me.

Image

Some of my friends and colleagues know that when I am not involved with Basketball and Wheelchair Basketball I am crafting, whether it be knitting, sewing or making jewellery.  When I have down time at tournaments I can be found in a corner knitting.  This helps me with curbing my nerves and staying relaxed, so I think I could be knitting loads in the next 20 days and beyond.  Along with my pencil case, knitting and clothes I have packed my kindle.  I don’t know if I will find time to read.

Whilst walking around the Olympic Park I was taken by the beautiful landscaping.  There are lots of places to sit and admire the beauty of an area that has been transformed.

Image  Image

These areas will give me a chance to contemplate and give thanks to all the people who have helped me get to this point in my officiating career.  Some of them will get to enjoy London 2012 and some will be watching from elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

